Passages (Covered Arcades)

covered arcades

Do not miss a walk through these famous “passages” located very close to the apartments:

1. Passage Jouffroy (11 Bd Montmartre)

Since it was built in 1836, Passage Jouffroy has been one of the most visited covered arcades in the capital. Situated on the Grands Boulevards and in the continuation of Passage des Panoramas, it owes its charm to its beautiful iron and glass architecture (the ogive glass roof immediately catches the eye) and its marble paving, renovated in 1987. The other asset to the Passage Jouffroy is the variety and originality of the establishments which it houses. Children and adults enjoy the Musée Grévin and its famous waxwork models. The Salon des Miroirs is a former 19th century brasserie which, today, is only used for private hire and transforms into a club on Saturday nights. Some of the most original shops add a special touch to the visit: old canes and walking sticks, old books, paper specialists and many others. It’s worth a visit for the window displays alone! Gourmets can take a break at Valentin, the unmissable tearoom. It is also accessible via 9 Rue de la Grange-Batelière.

2. Passage des Panorama (10-12 Bd Montmartre)

Real tribute to strollers and curious walkers, the Passage des Panoramas is considered the first covered walkway in Paris. Built in 1799, it has retained its old-fashioned charm and merchant spirit. Each store window reflects an historical moment of the French capital; from the Bourse district to the Grands Boulevards, sheltered by a magnificent canopy, the ‘commercial artery’ is listed as historical monument. Along its 133 metres of intense activity, eateries share the space with craftsmen. They work alongside many postcards, coins, autographs and old stamps collectors. Admire the ancient architecture still present, such as those of the Chocolatier Marquis and Stern printing house, symbolising the ambitious planning from the 18th century. Inaugurated in 1807, the Théâtre des Variétés is still active; programming concerts and comedies, it enlivens the walkway for two centuries, with celebrities always present.

3. Galerie Vivienne

The entrances are located 4, rue des Petits-Champs ; 5-7, rue de la Banque ; 6, rue Vivienne. Built in 1832, it has retained its old-fashioned charm and merchant spirit. Since the 1980’s Galerie Vivienne became very fashionable again thanks to Jean-Paul Gaultier. It has nice shops and is very close by to another passage the Galerie Colbert.

Laissez un commentaire

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

LES PASSAGES PARISIENS

covered arcades
Ne manquez pas de vous promener à travers ces fameux « “passages parisiens” situés à 2 pas de nos appartements :    
  • Le Passage Jouffroy (11 Bd Montmartre – 7500)
    Depuis sa construction en 1836, le Passage Jouffroy est l’une des arcades couvertes les plus visitées de la capitale. Situé sur les Grands Boulevards et dans le prolongement du Passage des Panoramas, il doit son charme à sa belle architecture de fer et de verre (la verrière en ogive attire immédiatement le regard) et à ses pavés de marbre, rénové en 1987. L’autre atout du Passage Jouffroy est la variété et l’originalité des établissements qu’il abrite. Enfants et adultes apprécient le fameux musée Grévin et ses célèbres statues de cire. Le Salon des Miroirs est une ancienne brasserie du XIXe siècle qui, aujourd’hui, n’est utilisée que pour la location privée et se transforme en club le samedi soir. Certaines boutiques parmi les plus originales vous surprendront : vieilles cannes et cannes de marche, vieux livres, spécialistes du papier et bien d’autres. La visite en vaut la peine rien que pour les vitrines ! Les gourmets peuvent faire une pause au Valentin, l’incontournable salon de thé. Le Passage dispose d’une autre entrée par le 9 rue de la Grange-Batelière.    
  • Passage des Panorama (10-12 Bd Montmartre)
    Véritable hommage aux promeneurs et aux curieux, le Passage des Panoramas est considéré comme le premier passage couvert de Paris. Construit en 1799, il a conservé son charme d’antan et son esprit marchand. Chaque vitrine reflète un moment historique de la capitale française ; du quartier de la Bourse aux Grands Boulevards, abritée par un magnifique auvent, l’artère commerciale est classée monument historique. Le long de ses 133 mètres d’activité intense, les restaurants se partagent l’espace avec les artisans. Se côtoient ainsi de nombreux collectionneurs de cartes postales, de pièces de monnaie, d’autographes et de timbres anciens. Admirez l’architecture ancienne encore présente, comme celles du chocolatier Marquis et de l’imprimeur Stern, qui symbolisent l’ambitieux projet du XVIIIe siècle. Inauguré en 1807, le Théâtre des Variétés est toujours en activité ; programmant des concerts et des comédies, il anime la promenade depuis deux siècles, avec des célébrités toujours présentes.    
  • Galerie Vivienne
    Les entrées sont situées au 4, rue des Petits-Champs ; 5-7, rue de la Banque ; 6, rue Vivienne. Construite en 1832, elle a conservé son charme d’antan et son esprit marchand. Depuis les années 1980, la Galerie Vivienne est redevenue très à la mode grâce au couturier Jean-Paul Gaultier. Elle possède de belles boutiques et se trouve très proche d’un autre passage : la Galerie Colbert.

Laissez un commentaire

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *